

If a house rule allowed a caster to close their eyes at the beginning of the spell casting, cast a spell, then open their eyes immediately after completing the spell, what potential options does that lead to? My thought is a potential increase in capability of Bard and Warlock classes. Mellored, in my mind you come across as a fairly level headed optimizer with a very good grasp of the rules. Why do you suggest that a character closing their eyes may not open them until the start of their next turn? My initial thought was to follow the guidance written into the MM Basilisk entry which suggest a creature can avert their eyes until the start of their next turn however reading through it I found that the text adds a sentence at the end of the paragraph that allows a character to look at the basilisk "in the meantime." The spell doesn't have "targets," it just has creatures who are in its area. HP is an area of effect spell, so it obeys the rules for that kind of spell, including a point of origin. But, there's a lot of space if you'd like to allow it as a tactic.īTW, when checking the rules for this stuff, note that a targeted spell is distinct from an area of effect spell. The simplest solution is just to say, "If you want to cast the spell, you're going to have to look at the point you're going to cast it at, just as an archer would have to look at where they're firing their arrows," and that's probably what I'd go with most of the time. Maybe get real specific with facing ("Oh, this orc wasn't looking at it."). If I was being generous, I might even let the tactic work normally, and let the party use it.but also let the enemies employ it. If I was in the mood to yes-but them I might say "Ok, but you have no idea where the spell might go off if you do that." Then use some genadelike missile chart or something to adjudicate where it actually goes off. Spellcasting is delicate and precious and if everything isn't just so, it won't go right.

"I close my eyes" wouldn't be a useful counter in my game - the default is going to be "you need your eyes open to target the spell, and if you close your eyes, you might not be able to create the effect you desire" (you need line of sight and line of effect!). If the caster's in the area of effect when they cast the spell, generally speaking, they'll be affected by the spell. Would you allow a caster to cast Hypnotic Pattern on themselves and not be affected by it? Since the caster knows precisely when the spell will be released can the caster avoid the save for Hypnotic Patter? The spell Hypnotic Pattern does not state the key phrase "a target you can see." The rules regarding A Clear Path To the Target, PH p 204, suggests that the caster does not need to see the spell target. If the caster closes their eyes before casting the spell then they will not be affected by the spell. Is there a clear rule on targeting and area of effect, or am I looking for key words when I should not be?Ģ. I also ran across what seems to be the general consensus that the Fireball spell will hit a caster if the caster is in the area of effect. However, after the game I researched if area of effect spell target creatures in the area and I ran across Calm Emotions and Circle of Death which have the word "Target" in the spell description. Does this allow the caster to remove themselves from a spell such as Hypnotic Pattern? The table ruling was no, the spell does not target creatures but affects each creature in an area. The section on Targeting Yourself on P 204 of the PH suggests that a caster may not include themselves as a target in an area of effect. I informed him that his character would also be affected by the spell and offered him a chance to change his declared action. The player stated he wanted to have his character cast Hypnotic Pattern in an area that included his character.
#A SPELL FOR ALL HYPNOTIC COLLECTIVE GINAADDRESS HOW TO#
Jones' office in school or by chance in general store.An interesting idea came up in the game today that I'm not sure how to how to make a final ruling.

Crazy patriot, potential Davy Robbins minion need to fail to charm her, then meet the mayor, discover she's illegal immigrant, talk to Police officer Batton, investigate her garage when she's absent, get the clues, get out and send the clues, back to police station to charm her in the jail. Can be charmed normal by complaining about the bradwurst or with shielded charm. can only be charmed with shielded Charm By Version: 14.8.4 all information without guarantee
